GRAND LAKE O' THE CHEROKEES HISTORY
Grand Lake O' The Cherokees was created in 1940 with GRDA's completion of Pensacola Dam.
It is one of the premiere lakes in the Midwest and the crown jewel of a chain of lakes in the northeastern
It's 46,500 surface acres of water are ideal for boating, skiing, fishing, swimming and sailing. In fact, the lake,
which lies in a southwest to northeast direction, is popular with sailboat enthusiasts wishing to take advantage
of the prevailing wind. Normal surface elevation is 742 feet above sea level.
With 1,300 miles of shoreline meandering through the foothills of the Ozark Mountains, everything from bustling
lakeside communities to quiet secluded coves and lakeside resorts can be found along its shore.
Consistently ranked among the top lakes for bass fishing in the region. Grand and GRDA's Lake Hudson are
the only two major lakes in the state where residents can own lakefront property on the water's edge.
It is also a haven for migratory waterfowl and other wildlife.
Grand River is formed by the junction of the Neosho and Spring Rivers ten miles southeast of of Miami, OK,
and flows in a southerly and southwesterly direction about 125 miles to empty into the Arkansas River five miles
northeast of Muskogee, OK. The river is entirely within the boundaries of the state of Oklahoma and receives the
drainage of the tributaries on the western slopes of the Ozark Mountains.
It has a fairly constant low-water flow of considerable volume, due to its many spring-fed tributaries and, in times
of flood, carries a large volume of water. The river channel has a good width and well-defined banks, changing little
over the years. The valley floor is narrow, rarely exceeding two miles in width and, in many places, is scarcely
a mile wide, with hills on both sides. With a fall of two feet per mile the stream is adapted to development of water
storage reservoirs and hydroelectric plants.
Grand River is formed by the junction of the Neosho and Spring River(s) ten miles southeast of of Miami, OK,
and flows in a southerly and southwesterly direction about 125 miles to empty into the Arkansas River five miles northeast of Muskogee, OK.
The river is entirely within the boundaries of the state of Oklahoma and receives the drainage of the tributaries on the western slopes of the Ozark Mountains.
It has a fairly constant low-water flow of considerable volume, due to its many spring-fed tributaries and, in times of flood, carries a large volume of water.
The river channel has a good width and well-defined banks, changing little over the years.
The valley floor is narrow, rarely exceeding two miles in width and,
in many places, is scarcely a mile wide, with hills on both sides. With a fall of two feet per mile the stream is adapted to development of water storage reservoirs and hydroelectric plants.
CITIES & LAKE TOWNS THAT SURROUND GRAND LAKE
The Grand Lake area is blessed to have numerous cities that have been created on or along the water's edge
Each town has specific amenities, attractions and landmarks, a trip to the Grand Lake O' the Cherokee's area is not complete
without a drive through our quaint family friendly towns... Figure in a extra day while you are here to enjoy our beautiful area!
BERNICE, OKLAHOMA... I MILE WEST
If you're making Bernice, Oklahoma your vacation destination or just passing through, we welcome you to stay for a while and visit one or two of our interesting attractions, such as the Starbird National Rod & Custom Car Museum Or perhaps your timing is just perfect to take part in an exciting event.
Browse Bernice's shoppes for gifts, good restaurants, and places to stay overnight. For outdoor fun go fishing or camping at a nearby lake or park, or just take a short day trip through our scenic countryside.
We want your trip to be a memorable experience so you can tell all your friends, "Make sure to stop and visit Bernice, OK"
We are happy to provide you with a brief description of what Bernice, Oklahoma has to offer, but this isn't all!
Starbird National Rod & Custom Car Museum, Bernice Bridge Fishing, Annual Crappie Tournament
DISNEY, OKLAHOMA... I MILE EAST
If you're making Disney, Oklahoma your vacation destination or just passing through, we welcome you to stay for a while and visit one or two of our interesting attractions . Or perhaps your timing is just perfect to take part in an exciting event. We know you'll enjoy the Picture in Scripture Amphitheater in August.
Browse Disney's shoppes for gifts, good restaurants, and places to stay overnight. For outdoor fun go fishing or camping at a nearby lake or park, or just take a short day trip through our scenic countryside.
We want your trip to be a memorable experience so you can tell all your friends, "Make sure to stop and visit Disney, OK"
We are happy to provide you with a brief description of what Disney, Oklahoma has to offer, but this isn't all!
LANGLEY, OKLAHOMA... I MILE WEST
If you're making Langley, Oklahoma your vacation destination or just passing through, we welcome you to stay for a while and visit one or two of our interesting attractions , such as the Powderhorn Park Or perhaps your timing is just perfect to take part in an exciting event. We know you'll enjoy the National Hook-n-Cookoff in September.
Browse Langley's shoppes for gifts, good restaurants, and places to stay overnight. For outdoor fun go fishing or camping at a nearby lake or park, or just take a short day trip through our scenic countryside.
We want your trip to be a memorable experience so you can tell all your friends, "Make sure to stop and visit Langley, OK"
We are happy to provide you with a brief description of what Langley, Oklahoma has to offer, but this isn't all!
Powderhorn Park, Pelican Landing Resort
VINITA, OKLAHOMA... 13 MILES WEST
Vinita is the second oldest town in Oklahoma and is the oldest incorporated one on Oklahoma Route 66. Vinita was also the first town in Oklahoma with electricity.
It was established in 1871 and was originally named Downingville. The name was later changed to Vinita, in honor of Vinnie Ream, the sculptress who created the life-size statue of Lincoln at the United States Capitol.
The name change was spearheaded by Elias Boudinot, son of a famous Cherokee traitor, or patriot, depending on whom you talk to. His father and 34 others sold the Cherokee ancestral lands to the U.S. government, resulting in the Cherokee Trail of Tears Mass Migration in 1838-39. Not surprisingly, the sale of the land split the Cherokee Nation politically and the streets in Vinita are named for prominent leaders and citizens on both sides of the dispute.
"America's Crossroads," Vinita was founded at the crossroads of the railroads. Today, Historic Route 66, Interstate 44, U.S. Highways 69 and 60, and State Highway 2 bring travelers and motor freight carriers to Vinita. Vinita is also the intersection point for Burlington Northern and Union Pacific Railroads.
We consider Vinita one of Oklahoma's best kept secrets, and we're glad to share the secret with you. You'll find Vinita a great place to be. We have a beautifully restored, historic shopping district, with a wide variety of shops and boutiques. While here you can enjoy the golf course and savory dining, play in our three municipal parks, and study our history in the Eastern Trails Museum.
You will not find kinder smiles or more helpful hands then those of the citizens who love Vinita and want to share its charm with others. Visit Vinita and see for yourself what our town has to offer. Don't miss our many events focusing on our community's rich cowboy culture such as the Will Rogers Memorial Rodeo or the World's Largest Calf Fry Festival in September. Vinita is a great place to visit or live.
ATTRACTIONS IN VINITA...
Eastern Trails Museum, Historic Homes Tour, The Battle of Cabin Creek, Clanton's Cafe, Little Cabin Pecan Company, McDonald's Glass House Restaurant, Buffalo Ridge Golf Course
Vinita Public Library, Vinita Golf & Tennis Club
JAY, OKLAHOMA... 19 MILES EAST
If you're making Jay, Oklahoma your vacation destination or just passing through, we welcome you to stay for a while and visit one or two of our interesting attractions , such as the Delaware County Historical Museum Or perhaps your timing is just perfect to take part in an exciting event. We know you'll enjoy the 4th of July Celebration in July.
Browse Jay's shoppes for gifts, good restaurants, and places to stay overnight. For outdoor fun go fishing or camping at a nearby lake or park, or just take a short day trip through our scenic countryside.
Make sure you get to enjoy the Annual Huckleberry Festival in June
We want your trip to be a memorable experience so you can tell all your friends, "Make sure to stop and visit Jay, OK"
We are happy to provide you with a brief description of what Jay, Oklahoma has to offer, but this isn't all!
Delaware County Historical Museum, Huckleberry Canyon Park, Annual Huckleberry Festival, Car Show & Carnival
MIAMI, OKLAHOMA... 19 MILES NORTH
Travelers on Historic Route 66 will definitely want to make Miami a stop as they cruise down "America's Main Street." One can still drive on a piece of the original Route 66 "Ribbon Road."
This 13 mile stretch is the only paved section of 9 foot wide, one lane Route 66 that can still be driven.
Route 66 runs straight to the heart of Miami and the Coleman Theatre Beautiful.
Built as a vaudeville theatre and movie palace, the Coleman opened in 1929. Many early stars including Will Rogers appeared on its stage and its screen. This opulent theatre is being restored to its original splendor. Tours are conducted year round.
Miami is home to the Ottawa County Historical Society's Dobson Museum. Native American artifacts and other historic items depict the lives of early settlers and the legacy of the great lead and zinc mines.
The Stables in southeast Miami is the newest entertainment facility in this part of Oklahoma. A joint venture of the Miami Tribe of Oklahoma and the Modoc Tribe of Oklahoma, the Stables offers high-tech electronic games, simulcast races, and bingo.
Miami was originally a trading post called Jimtown in the sparsely settled region set aside for a number of small Indian tribes. Enacted in 1891, by the Secretary of the Interior was the authorization to sell to the Miami Town Company on the behalf of the Ottawa Tribe of Indians land to be platted for the development of the future town of Miami.
Miami was to become the first town in Indian Territory where purchasers could secure a deed to their property. The town was incorporated in 1895.
Miami might have followed the usual development from a trading post in Indian Territory to a small town except that lead and zinc were discovered in 1905. Boom excitement caused the population to increase 141 per cent in a brief period.
The Coleman Theatre, Dobson Museum, Historic Route 66, Courthouse and War Memorial, Outdoor Murals, The Stables, Peoria Ridge Golf Course, Miami Golf & Country Club
GROVE, OKLAHOMA... 2 MILES NORTH
Located on the shores of beautiful Grand Lake O' the Cherokees, situated in the foothills of the Ozarks, Grove is blessed with natural beauty and opportunity. At one time Grove was nothing but wilderness. Its natural spring and groves of trees became identifying landmarks and a respite for travelers. In the olden days, Grove was known by several different names - Round Grove, Monroe Grove, Tablor's Grove, The Grove and Grove Springs.
With a rich and colorful history and an enterprising attitude, Grove welcomes new residents and business owners daily, while retaining small-town traditions, warm hospitality and solid values. A few years back, Rand McNally, the Wall Street JournalPlaces Rated ranked Grove as one of the top retirement areas in the nation.
Shopping in Grove and around Grand Lake includes the downtown renovation with strolling tree-lined streets with charming antique and specialty shops, home interior and exterior design stores, and decorative accessories and gift stores. Many of Grove's historical buildings have become some of the most delightful gift stores, clothing stores and eateries.
Located downtown is the very popular Eatery named Java Dave's Coffee House & Cafe, with a wonderful floral and gift shop, Rebecca's Floral Expressions on the corner of Third & Grand
Grove is rich in history and heritage. Pioneer, cowboy and Indian heritage is what has turned what was once wilderness into the largest growing town in Oklahoma.
Cherokee Indian families settled in the area back in the 1860's during the Trail of Tears, and French traders trapped much wildlife along the riverbanks. Since 1817 it has continued to be a well-known trading center with fertile valleys and clear streams. The blanketing woods that cover the hills of the countryside are the sites that many struggles and battles occurred that molded Grove into what it is today.
In 1940, the Pensacola Dam was completed with the Grand River being dammed up to form Grand Lake O'the Cherokees, bringing electricity to the Cherokee nation in Indian Territory. In the process the town of Grove was almost completely surrounded by water.
The construction of Sailboat Bridge on the north and Honey Creek Bridge on the south connected Grove to surrounding towns, and Grove began to boom.
Grove continued to thrive, and as the years passed new businesses were attracted to the area. In 1968 Har-Ber Village, the largest antique museum in the United States, was created.
Cayuga Mission Church, Har-Ber Village, Lendonwood Botanical Gardens, Grand Lake Casino, Satsuki Gardens, Gen. Stand Watie Grave Site, Corey Hotel, Cherokee Grove Golf Course, Patricia Island Golf Course, Brush & Palette Club
KETCHUM, OKLAHOMA... 4 MILES WEST
If you're making Ketchum, Oklahoma your vacation destination or just passing through, we welcome you to stay for a while and visit one or two of our interesting attractions . Or perhaps your timing is just perfect to take part in an exciting event. We know you'll enjoy the Hook-n-Cookoff in September.
Browse Ketchum's shoppes for gifts, good restaurants, and places to stay overnight. For outdoor fun go fishing or camping at a nearby lake or park, or just take a short day trip through our scenic countryside.
We want your trip to be a memorable experience so you can tell all your friends, "Make sure to stop and visit Ketchum, OK"
We are happy to provide you with a brief description of what Ketchum, Oklahoma has to offer, but this isn't all!
SPAVINAW, OKLAHOMA... 8 MILES SOUTH
If you're making Spavinaw, Oklahoma your vacation destination or just passing through, we welcome you to stay for a while and visit one or two of our interesting attractions , such as the Or perhaps your timing is just perfect to take part in an exciting event.
Spavinaw sports the fact that it's the birthplace of Yankee great Mickey Charles Mantle, number 7
Browse Spavinaw's shoppes for gifts, good restaurants, and places to stay overnight. For outdoor fun go fishing or camping at a nearby lake or park, or just take a short day trip through our scenic countryside.
We want your trip to be a memorable experience so you can tell all your friends, "Make sure to stop and visit Spavinaw, OK"
We are happy to provide you with a brief description of what Spavinaw, Oklahoma has to offer, but this isn't all!
AFTON, OKLAHOMA... 8 MILES WEST
If you're making Afton, Oklahoma your vacation destination or just passing through, we welcome you to stay for a while and visit one or two of our interesting attractions , such as the Coves Golf Club
Or perhaps your timing is just perfect to take part in an exciting event. We know you'll enjoy the once famous Buffalo Ranch where you can still see a few buffalo
Browse Afton's shoppes for gifts, good restaurants, and places to stay overnight. For outdoor fun go fishing or camping at a nearby lake or park, or just take a short day trip through our scenic countryside.
We want your trip to be a memorable experience so you can tell all your friends, "Make sure to stop and visit Afton, OK"
We are happy to provide you with a brief description of what Afton, Oklahoma has to offer, but this isn't all!
Monkey Island Trail & Hayrides, National Rod & Custom Car Hall of Fame Museum, Shangri-La Resort, The Coves Golf Club
FISHING ON GRAND LAKE O' the CHEROKEES
Fishing is by far the most popular sporting activity on Grand Lake, and you have the ability to enjoy this favorite pastime all year 'round.
It has been said that October to April are the best months for catching the ever- popular Crappie. With the many enclosed fishing docks throughout the Grand Lake area, you don't have to worry about braving the cold. Sit back and relax 24 hours a day in these heated docks.
Grand Lake is one of the best bass lakes in Oklahoma. Bass can be taken twelve months a year, the best month being June, but May through September are all good months.
Bass spend the winter months in deep water, 24 to 30 feet deep. When the surface water temperature reaches 60 degrees, the bass move into shallow water in the coves. Depending on weather, this generally occurs between Arpil 15 and May 5.
At this time, they can be caught on shallow running crank baits and surface lures. The bass spawning begins when the water temperature reaches 62 degrees. After spawning, the bass move to the willows and shallow rocky points.
They can be taken on spinner and buzz baits, plastic worms, jig and frog, crank baits and surface lures. As the water temperature approaches 75 degrees, the fish move to deep points, bluffs, underwater brush piles and boat docks.
The same lure pattern holds true. This pattern will hold until late September or early October. When water temperatures cool to 70 degrees, the bass move back to shallow coves and shallow brush. Medium and shallow running crank baits work well. When water temperatures get down to approximately 56 degrees, the fish move back to deep water.
This sporty little fish rarely gets above three pounds, but a two pounder will test your tackle. They are the first to spawn in late February or early March and like to spawn in running water.
During this period, a good place to catch them is the upper end of Elk River, Spring River and Neosho River above Twin Bridges. Large numbers of White Bass have been taken below the low water dam on the Neosho in Miami, Oklahoma.
After spawning, White Bass move to deep flats and underwater islands. Schools can be found in 20' - 30' of water. Use jugging spoons straight up and down. By the middle of August when the shad have reached the size of minnows, the White Bass move to the shallows.
They are easy to catch trolling or casting on windy points and gravel shorelines. They can be taken with white or light blue jigs, with or without a float, light-colored Roadrunners, white or yellow Roostertails, and, on occasion, top water lures. Try 1/4 oz. Vibric Roostertail in chartrueuse or white Tiny Torpedoes.
This action generally lasts until the first of December - at this time the White Bass go back to deep water and can be caught on jigging spoons.
This fish is locally referred to as a Kentucky bass. This bass follows about the same water temperature changes as the largemouth, although he likes rocky ledges and is generally caught in deeper water than the largemouth.
This fish can be distinguished by a rough spot on the tongue, and his mouth does not extend past his eye. Best lures are jig and pork, salt craws, plastic worms, deep jerk baits and spring lizards.
Grand Lake is known throughout the Midwest as a fine Crappie lake, where they can be caught twelve months a year. Some of the larger Crappie are caught in winter months from fishing docks with brush around them and in deep sunken brush.
Most public brush piles are marked on the shoreline. Crappie spawn in 55-60 degrees water, temperatures generally occurring in April. As Crappie spawn in shallow water two to four feet deep, they are easy to catch and are the finest eating fish in our lake.
A good time to Crappie fish is March along the bank in shallow brush, and in April along the shallow gravel banks in the coves. A small, light-colored jig fished 18 inches under a float works well. My favorites are 1/16 and 1/32 oz. light-colored Tube and Marabou jigs.
During hot sumer months and deep brush, outside or inside fishing docks in 15-25 feet of water. Live minnows work well during all these conditions.
Bluegill are a favorite with children. They are well represented in Grand Lake but do not grow to a large size, average four to seven ounces. They are caught during summer months around boat docks and along rocky shorelines.
Most are caught on bait. Good baits are earthworms, grub worms, insect larvae, crickets and grasshoppers. Small flies or corkbody popping bugs work well on a fly rod.
Catfish abound in Grand Lake, and can be caught through December in many ways... trotlines, throw lines, limb lines, jug lines or rod and reel.
Good baits are beef liver, chicken liver, blood bait, stink bait, live minnows, live crawfish, crappie entrails and shad.
My favorite way to catch Channel is to drift fish with fresh shad for bait. Drift flats in five-fifteen feet of water most anytime of day or night.
Channel spawn when water temperature reache 75 degrees (late May or early June). During spawn, Channel can be caught around rock fills, breakwater fills, and bridge fills.
This species, a cross between a White Bass and a Striper, does not reproduce and has to be stocked each year to keep the population up. Therefore, the count can be controlled.
Hybrids have been stocked in Grand Lake since 1982. The Wildlife Conservation Department netted some in the four-pound class in the Spring of 1984. These fish grew to a maximum of 20 pounds after fourteen years and are providing some wonderful sport fishing.
Best baits are live or fresh shad fished in 20 to 30 feet of water, large jigs, deep running crank baits and jigging spoons.
BOATING ON GRAND LAKE
Grand Lake O' the Cherokees boasts over 30 full service marinas and boat dealers. You can enjoy everything from a comfortable, friendly fishing camp style marina to luxurious yacht clubs with every service imaginable.
Many marinas offer fishing guides, boat and personal watercraft rentals, parasailing, and chartered yachts. These marinas offer a full line of boat services, equipment and repairs.
You'll find a lively selection of fun summertime apparel and nautical gift items in most marina ship stores. Several marinas also feature fine dining with boat slips for guests arriving by water, and even live entertainment.
The over 60,000 members of the United States Power Squadrons are men and women who share an interest in recreational boating - both sail and power - and a commitment to safe boating. The recently formed Grand Lake Sail and Power Squadron is one of 450 squadrons that make up the United States Power Squadrons.
Squadron activities include boating education opportunities for members; community service, including boating courses offered to the public; and on and off the water social activities.
The USPS Boating Course and the BoatSmart Course are offered several times each year on Grand Lake. Most insurance companies offer discounts of 5% to 15% on boat insurance premiums for those who pass these courses.
STRUCTURAL LANDMARKS ON GRAND LAKE
Pensacola Dam was the first hydroelectric facility in the state. GRDA built the dam between December 30, 1938, and March 21, 1940, when depression-era labor was abundant. It is located between the communities of Langley and Disney, spanning a mile across the Grand River Valley and holding back the 43,500 acres of water that form Grand Lake O' the Cherokees.
In an effort to increase reliability while holding down maintenance costs at Pensacola Dam, the Grand River Dam Authority began a major upgrade project there in the fall of 1997. Though they are Oklahoma's oldest hydroelectric turbine generators, the six units at Pensacola Dam have performed admirably at the facility for over 50 years.
However, increased production capability following the upgrade ensures that they will play a vital role in the GRDA generation system for the next 50 years and beyond. A new design of turbine runners and turbine shafts, rewound generators, new excitation equipment, transformers and cable were included in the upgrade.
The Grand River Dam Authority offers FREE tours of historic Pensacola Dam to the general public. During the summer (between Memorial Day and Labor Day holidays), tours are given five days a week, originating from the GRDA Lake Patrol office, located above the powerhouse on the west end of the dam. Call the Lake Patrol for exact days and time during the summer.
STATE PARKS ON GRAND LAKE
Extremely popular for its wealth of recreational activities and its abundant fishing opportunities, 46,300 Acre Grand Lake is one of northeast Oklahoma's most popular vacation destinations.
The southeast shoreline area of Grand Lake O' the Cherokees, just two blocks from Disney, is the scenic location for this two park area.
Disney State Park area is located by the flood gates of the magnificent Pensacola Dam. With the only boat ramp in the area, 20 acre Disney State Park is a popular site for bass fishing tournaments (as well as all watersports), and offers picnic areas, a group picnic shelter, a small playground, a lighted boat ramp, and 45 tent/outdoor camping sites.
The 12.5-acre Little Blue State Park is located below the spillway, another fine fishing site as only fishing boats with small trolling motors are allowed. There are a few picnic areas and 35 tent and outdoor campsites available. Both are excellent locations for the avid fisherman.
Disney State Park is a good starting point for a Grand Lake getaway. Friendly merchants provide a good selection of camping and water sports equipment. Grand Lake vacationers can stock up on everything they need... from fishing tackle to picnic supplies. Shoppers will also find gifts and groceries as well as boat sales and service.
Bernice State Park is located on the water front of Grand Lake, an area described as the "Crappie Fishing Capitol of the State." Located on the northwestern corner of Grand Lake, Bernice State Park is famous for its gradual tapering and shallow swim areas with smooth pebble beaches and has become a popular spot for families with small children.
Bernice State Park has a lighted boat ramp and offers fishing for largemouth bass, white bass, channel catfish and bluegill. Visitors can enjoy picnics, camping, a playground and a 2-mile walking and jogging path.
The 88-acre Bernice State Park has 231 campsites from primitive to semi-modern with electric and water and a dump facility.
A park permit is required, Open year around, Located one-half mile East of Bernice off SH-85A.
On the shores of Grand Lake 'O the Cherokees, in the city limits of Grove, OK, Honey Creek State Park is approximately 38 acres and with its full bloom of Dogwood and Redbud trees, is especially beautiful in the spring. The park offers excellent fishing opportunities for bass, catfish, crappie, bluegill and spoonbill.
Honey Creek State Park provides access to Grand Lake for fishing, boating, water skiing, and other lake activities from a lighted boat ramp.
Picnic facilities, including 3 shelters, 404 campsites, 5 comfort stations, 4 of which have showers, a playground, 2 mile walking path, and a swimming pool are also on site.
Although the campgrounds are always open year round, only one comfort station remains open during winter.
Park permit is required, Open year around, located South of Grove on State Park Road, off US-59
BIRD WATCHING ON GRAND LAKE
The American White Pelican...
Pelicans have lived in our world for over 35,000,000 years and have changed very little in that period of time... a truly pre-historic creature.
We are fortunate in the Grand Lake area that the American White Pelican spends time here during both spring and fall migration. They have adapted well to the many reservoirs in Oklahoma, enjoying the abundance of gizzard shad and other non-gamefish, as well as the many quiet secluded areas where they may rest undistrubed by people.
During Fall Migration...
The birds arrive in our area in mid to late September, staying until November. Here they rest and feed before flying on to their winter home along the gulf of Mexico.
The Pelicans are usually sighted on the northern end of the lake in the Twin Bridges area near Wyandotte and gradually move down the lake as more of the flock arrives.
As with all wild creatures their whereabouts can be hard to predict as they might be found in the shallows anywhere on the lake. However, here are a few favorite spots they can be found...
On either side of Sailboat Bridge on US 59 North of Grove
In Elk River area near Number 10 Bridge on Hwy 10 northeast of Grove
In Carey Bay on west side of Grove
In Honey Creek at the south edge of Grove
In Horse Creek near Bernice
In the Twin Bridges area near Wyandotte
In the Wolf Creek area at City Park off 16th Strteet in Grove
In the Grand River below the Pensacola Dam at the south end of the lake
The shallow end of Drowning Creek in a south end arm of the lake
White Pelicans are protected under the Migratory Bird Act.
Oklahoma is an important wintering area for the bald eagle and GRDA is fortunate to be able to provide habitat to support their presence.
In early December, the first of many bald eagles to spend part of their winter in the Grand Lake and Lake Hudson areas was spotted below Pensacola Dam and they are also finding their way to the tailrace waters below Robert S. Kerr Dam.
Most of the migrating eagles in northeastern Oklahoma come from Canada and the Great Lake states. Their numbers should peak in January through February before they head north in mid-March.
The best GRDA viewing areas vary from year to year. However, the waters below Kerr and Pensacola dams are always a good bet.
The eagles like to perch in tall trees below the dams until they are ready to feed.
The best time to view the eagles is in the early morning, especially when GRDA is generating at the dams.
In 1994, GRDA began an innovative seeding project along the shores of Grand Lake. By dropping the lake to an elevation of 741 feet (above sea level), thousands of acres of mudflat areas were exposed.
GRDA then used a cropduster plane to seed these mudflat areas with 10,000 pounds of Japanese millet. For a month following the seeding, the lake was kept at the lower level to allow the seed to germinate and grow.
GRDA then raised the lake back to its normal elevation allowing acres and acres of new vegetation to serve as a food source for the various species of migratory waterfowl that pass through the Grand Lake area in the fall and winter... and below the surface, the rich vegetation serves as protective cover for the young fish that are hatched out each spring.
The project began in 1994 and was expected to last five years.
The millet seeding project benefits several different species.
Biologists sighted Canda Geese, Mallards, Blue-winged Teal, Green-winged Teal, Gadwalls, Widgeons, Pintails, Redheads, Wood Ducks, Cormorants, Pelicans, Mergansers, Grebes, Ruddy Ducks, Goldeneyes, Lesser Scaups, Ringnecks, Canvasbacks, Buffleheads, Shovelers, White-fronted Geese, Loons and other species around the lake when the last survey was done a few years ago.
The cooling and settling ponds on the grounds of GRDA's Coal-Fired Complex are also a haven for Canada Geese.
OFF ROAD VEHICLE AREAS ON GRAND LAKE
If extreme 4x4 action is what you want, Grand Lake offers plenty to keep you satisfied! From rugged wooded trails to sheer rock faces, the base of Pensacola Dam has terrain for any type of vehicle.
Throughout the year, you will find drivers testing their abilities in such places as the "Rock Garden" and the "Nose Dive."
From local jeep clubs to multi-state jamborees, there is always excitement to be found at Pensacola Dam.
Lodging and facilities are available throughout the year, so don't miss the action!
PENSACOLA DAM HISTORY
The World's Largest Multiple Arch Dam
The Grand River Dam Authority is proud offer Free Tours of our Historic Pensacola Dam during the summer (between Memorial Day and Labor Day holidays), tours are given seven days a week including holidays,
from 9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Tours originate from the GRDA Lake Patrol office, located above the powerhouse on the west end of the dam in Langley, OK.
Contact the GRDA Tour Office at
918 782-9594 Extension 3808 or email email@example.com during the summer months for more information.
At other times, groups of ten or more can schedule a tour by contacting GRDA's Community Relations Coordinator at
918 256-5545 Extension 4413.
Tours do require a lot of walking, several flights of stairs, and last about one hour.
PENSACOLA DAM TIME LINE, 1896 TO PRESENT
SUMMER OF 1896...
Henry Holderman, the first man to envision a dam across the Grand River Valley, floats
down the river with his brother, Bert, and two classmates from the Spaulding Institute in Muskogee, OK.
The trip is to survey the possible locations for the dam. Although he would try time and again to get funding
to build the dam, Holderman would die before construction began.
The Grand River Dam Authority is created when the 15th Oklahoma legislature passes
State Senate Bill 395 (the Grand River Dam Authority Enabling Act). Not only does this authorize construction
of the Pensacola Dam, but it also creates a state agency that will someday help to bring thousands of jobs to
With authorization for construction of the "Pensacola Project" a group
of Vinita and Grove businessmen make several trips to Washington, D.C., to lobby for funding for the project.
They finally get official approval from the Works Progress Administration and President Franklin D. Roosevelt.
Because of the hard times of the Great Depression, thousands of workers flock to the
Pensacola Project site, making the small towns of Langley and Disney instant boom towns. Massman Construction
of Kansas City (chief contractor on the dam project) begins pouring the first of 510,000 cubic yards of concrete.
Driven by depression-era labor and surprisingly mild weather, the 24-hour-a-day continuous pour of concrete is
completed 20 months later.
Although Oklahoma Governor Leon C. Phillips opposed closure of the dam because of
controversy over state highways inundated by the new lake, the last stop log was dropped into place late in the
month, sealing the dam.
Controversy aside, Governor Phillips opens the road across the dam on the 13th of the
month. By the end of the summer, thanks to heavy rains, the reservoir is full, and the Grand Lake O' the Cherokees
is a reality.
With the threat of World War II looming on the horizon, the federal government, via the
Federal Power Act, takes control of Pensacola Dam. All the country's resources, including electricity, will soon be
directed toward the war effort.
With World War II coming to an end, GRDA officials begin the long and grueling process
to regain control of the dam from the government. By July of 1946, after a year and a half of struggles, the U.S.
Congress passes a bill authorizing the return of the dam to GRDA and the people of the state of Oklahoma.
President Harry S. Truman's signature makes it official. (During government control of the dam, many of the
minor contracts on the project are completed.)
GRDA officially takes control of the dam. The towns of Disney and Langley hold huge celebrations
After much controversy, GRDA wins the authorization tug-of-war with the
United States Army Corps of Engineers and is allowed to begin construction of the Markham Ferry Project (Robert S. Kerr Dam).
GRDA completes the Markham Ferry Project on Lake Hudson. Not only does this add to
hydroelectricity production of Pensacola Dam, but it also furthers flood control for Grand River. With the completion
of these two dams, only one site, near Fort Gibson, OK, remains as a viable location for the Grand River's third and final dam.
The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers gets authorization to build this final facility,
Still needing generating capability, but unable to further develop Grand River resources,
GRDA turns to the idea of a pumped-storage project, to be built on the Saline Creek arm of Lake Hudson.
Using a reservoir high in the hills east of Salina, OK, this 'experimental' power plant, which critics said would "break
the Authority," is becoming a reality.
After months of blasting, dredging, dirt work and construction work, stage one of the Salina
Pumped Storage Project is completed. While GRDA officials learn the ins and outs of pumped-storage operation,
stage two construction begins. By 1971, it is completed, and the entire project adds 260 megawatts of production
capability to the GRDA system.
Although it has three facilities for hydroelectricity production, GRDA must still rely on purchased
power to meet its customers' growing needs. That, coupled with a projected energy shortage for the early 1980s, turns
GRDA's attention toward thermal generation. The Oklahoma State Legislature aids in the process by approving a debt
ceiling that will allow GRDA to sell bonds to begin construction of a coal-fired, thermal-generation facility.
"GRDA is officially in the business of generating electricity from coal," was
the message as the 11th amendment to the Markham Ferry Coordinating Agreement of 1957 was passed. Until then,
GRDA had only been authorized to produce hydroelectric power.
JANUARY 1, 1981...
GRDA begins operating in its own load control area for the first time.
A 1,245-acre site on the southern edge of the MidAmerica Industrial Park
is suddenly bustling with activity as construction begins on GRDA 1, the first stage of GRDA’s thermal-generation facility.
GRDA 1's turbine generator spins for the first time, producing electricity.
Oklahoma Governor George Nigh officially dedicates the state-owned thermal generation
facility known as the GRDA Coal-Fired Complex.
Following the dedication and some fine tuning, GRDA 1 begins commercial operations.
Construction on the second phase (GRDA 2) of the Coal-Fired Complex begins. (At times during construction,
as many as 1,400 workers were on site.)
OCTOBER 6, 1985...
GRDA 2 produces its first megawatts. On the 25th, it is officially dedicated. Like GRDA 1,
GRDA 2 was completed on time and under budget.
After some fine tuning, GRDA 2 begins commercial operations. Combined with GRDA 1,
it increases total electric production capability by 1,010 megawatts.
GRDA began the largest upgrade project in it's history when Unit 3 at Pensacola
Dam was disassembled for major rehabilitation. For the next six years, the remaining units did undergo the same procedure.
Completed in April 2003, the combined generation capacity of Pensacola Dam was increased by approximately 20 percent,
while Oklahoma's oldest hydroelectric units are now operating with many new turbine and generator components.
GRDA is proud offer FREE DAM TOURS of our historic Pensacola Dam to the general public.
During the summer (between Memorial Day and Labor Day holidays), tours are given five days a week,
originating from the GRDA Lake Patrol office, located above the powerhouse on the west end of the dam.
Call the GRDA Lake Patrol at 918-782-9594 for exact days and time during the summer.
At other times, groups can schedule a tour by contacting GRDA's community relations coordinator at 918-256-5545.
Tours do require a lot of walking and last about one hour.
GROVE, OKLAHOMA HISTORY
Grove is rich in history and heritage...
Pioneer, cowboy and Indian heritage has turned what was once wilderness
into the fastest growing town in Oklahoma. From horse-drawn carriages to huge cabin cruisers on Grand Lake
O’ the Cherokees, the area has defi nitely seen it all.
Most people are not aware of the opportunities and resources this once sleepy little town claims; however,
these assets have not always been here. It has taken many years and much effort to develop the beautiful
Grove area and the waters of the Grand Lake O’ the Cherokees that surround our wonderful town.
Cherokee Indian families settled in the area in the 1860s during the Trail of Tears; and French traders trapped
wildlife along our riverbanks. Grove’s natural springs and groves of trees became identifying landmarks for the early travelers.
Grove has always been a welcoming place for residents and travelers. In fact, since 1817 it has been a well-known trading center
with fertile valleys and clear streams. The blanketing woods that cover the hills of the countryside are sites where the many
struggles and battles occurred that molded Grove into what it is today.
During the Civil War, Federal troops referred to the Grove area as Round Grove in their official reports. Other names for the area
included Monroe Grove, named for a Cherokee family that owned the land before the Civil War; and Tablor’s Grove, named for Dr. Tablor,
an early settler. The area was most frequently referred to as Grove Springs, since it was a small settlement near a freshwater spring that
served as a resting place for travelers along the Texas Road.
Springs was dropped from the town name in 1888 when Captain Remsen applied for a post office, thus creating the name Grove.
In the early years the arrival of many new settlers prompted the community to organize. But even before the laying out of the town site
and the creation of Grove there was an elected board of trustees, or town council, which governed the town and made the crucial decisions.
In 1940, the Pensacola Dam was completed with the Grand River being dammed up to form Grand Lake O’ the Cherokees,
bringing electricity to the Cherokee Nation in Indian Territory. In the process the town of Grove was almost completely surrounded by water.
The construction of Sailboat Bridge on the north and Honey Creek Bridge on the south connected Grove to surrounding towns and
Grove began to boom. Grove continued to thrive and, as the years passed, new businesses were attracted to the area.
The Grove Hospital was founded in 1963; the Grove Public Library was established in 1964; and in 1968 Har-Ber Village, the largest antique
museum in the United States, was created.
Echoes of these times past are reflected in many of the stores in the downtown area, the never-ending coves of the lake water,
and in the faces of current-day residents... an enthusiasm for tomorrow’s future that makes Living the Grand Life in Grove so special!
Grove, the largest city on Grand Lake O’ the Cherokees, is the retail, housing and water sport center for its eastern shores.
Accessible to thousands of visitors each year, and with two airports serving the area, Grove is a short 76-mile drive from Tulsa,
and a 43-mile drive from Joplin, Missouri.
With more shoreline than California (over 1,300 miles), Grand Lake O’ the Cherokees is a popular destination for weekend visitors
looking to unwind beside its sparkling waters, and summer travelers making the most of the lake lifestyle.
New residents and business owners are welcomed daily in Grove, which boasts a rich and colorful history and an enterprising
attitude while retaining small-town traditions, warm hospitality, and solid values. Recently rated by Rand McNally,
the Wall Street Journal and Retirement Places Rated as one of the top retirement areas in the nation,
Grove is attracting an increasing number of new residents and retirees looking to discover what Living the Grand Life is all about.
The rolling hills surrounding Grove and Grand Lake come alive in the spring with breathtaking views of dogwood and redbud trees
displayed against dark green native cedars and pines, revealing Grove’s climate as our best-kept secret where everyone enjoys
moderate weather with four distinct seasons.
The perfect summer setting for long days on the water and viewing magnificent sunsets from the back of a slow-cruising
boat are enhanced by clear blue skies, clean air and warm temperatures. Fall brings brilliant Ozark foliage colors of crimson,
gold and burgundy; brisk morning air and temperate weather, and later the occasional snows of winter add up to Living the Grand Life in Grove.
GROVE'S RICH HERITAGE
Grove’s rich heritage has created a thriving town that has prospered due to many resources and attractions. From horse-drawn carriages to cabin cruisers on Grand Lake, the Grove area definitely has seen it all.
Many people are unaware of the resources and opportunities this small city claims however; these assets have not always been here. It has taken time to develop the beautiful Grove area and the waters of Grand Lake o’ the Cherokees surrounding it.
Grove was and remains today a welcoming place for both residents and travelers. Since 1817, it has continued to be a well-known trading center with fertile valleys and clear streams. The blanketing woods that cover the hills of the countryside are the sites of many struggles and battles that molded Grove into what it is today.
Federal troops in the Civil War referred to the Grove area as “Round Grove” in their official reports. Some other earlier names for the areas included: Monroe Grove, named for a Cherokee family that owned the land before the Civil War; and Tablor’s Grove, named for Dr. Tablor, an early settler.
This area was most frequently referred to as Grove Springs, since it was a small settlement near a freshwater spring that served as a resting place for travelers along the Texas Road.
BUSINESSES OPEN IN GROVE
George Ward built and owned the first house in the Grove Springs area. The earliest businesses were near the spring itself: two general stores owned by a German named August Safer and a Confederate Captain named Tredwell Remsen.
“Springs” was dropped from the town name in 1888, when Captain Remsen applied for a post office, bringing about the town name “Grove”. Another early business was the Old Mill, which was built by a man name Dahl.
In 1898 the first issue of the Grove Sun was printed. The issue listed Grove as having four doctors, two druggists, three blacksmiths, a livery feed store, a hotel, a lawyer who drove back and forth between Grove and Fairland, and one barber.
Around 1899, there were a few restaurants that were in Grove. They included, the City Restaurant owned by J.C. Ferree, the Whiteway Café, Little George Thomas Chili Joint, and Lacy’s Café that later became a candy store.
One early business that demonstrated the home-style atmosphere was Aunt Jane Longmire’s Boarding House. She had no menu; however, her meals were known for miles around. The food was set out on the long tables in bowls and on platters. There was a wash pan and a bucket of water in the back for washing hands.
Other businesses included the Hotel Hazel, the first hotel in Grove. The sixteen-room hotel, also known as “Hotel Mayes”, was located on the corner of Second and Hazel. The hotel’s business ended in October of 1933, when it was struck by lightning and burned.
Another business was Grove’s first movie house, which was located on the corner of Third and Broadway. The movie projector was known as the “Magic Lantern”. The movie house moved to Shupert’s Ben Franklin on 17 West Third Street. Today a six-screen movie theatre is located at 110 N. 3rd.
Other improvements began to enhance the Grove district such as the establishment of the fire department in 1911, which consisted of a hose cart, and the addition of the Grove Community Center, which was built in the town square in 1938.
In 1944, the only bank in Grove was the State Bank of Grove. In 1975, the Grand Lake Bank was built. Grove currently has eight banks.
As the years passed, Grove continued to thrive. New businesses were sprouting up everywhere. In addition to the many businesses already present, Dr. N.A. Cotner founded the hospital in 1963, and the public library was established in 1964.
TOWN GOVERNMENT FORMED IN GROVE
In the early years, the arrival of many new settlers promoted to community to organize. Even before the laying of the town site and the creation of Grove, there had been an elected board of trustees or town council. This council governed the town and made the crucial decisions for Grove.
Today Grove has a council-manager form of government with five elected officials including four officials elected by ward and one elected at-large, the council elects the mayor.
Some of the early mayors from 1900 to 1916 were: Simps Melton – 1900, William A. Walton – 1902-1903, James P. Butler – 1903-1904, W.N. Morgan – 1905-1906, William Thomas – 1906, John H. Gibson – 1899 and 1907, J.M. Wood – 1908-1910, William P. Mayes – 1912 and 1916, W.D. Gibson – 1913.
The first president of the board was Mayor J.C. Starr. The original council authorized the building of the first town jail in September of 1897. The first town marshal Thomas Calfee (February 1914-1916) received $10.00 per month. His job included removal of dead animals and the responsibility of all street repairs. Some of the laws enforced were no biking, no loud talking and no playing loud music on Sunday.
The sale of liquor, cigarette paper and cigarettes was not allowed in the city limits in 1905. In 1909, it was unlawful to spit on the sidewalk. These ordinances were not only enforced by the town sheriff, but also by the people.
GROVE'S ORIGINAL TOWNSITE ESTABLISHED
In 1901 the townsite was laid out. The original boundaries were First Street on the north, Cherokee Street on the east, Center Street on the west, and Tenth Street on the South. At this time the road was slightly narrowed on West 3rd Street. This irregularity is still noticeable today. The reason for this unique appearance is that an influential doctor owned a house near the edge of town.
He was asked to move his shed from the edge of the road; however, he refused to do so. Not wanting to upset him, the town workers decided to build the road around the shed, which caused an indentation in the road.
FAMILIES IN THE GROVE AREA
Typically families in the Grove area were hardworking families whose days were filled with many chores. All of the cooking was done on wood cook stoves. They raised their own meat and milked cows for their dairy products. On Saturday evenings, families went to town to sell cream and eggs. With the money they made, they bought clothes, which were washed on a rub board. The water was heated in a kettle before gas washers were brought to popularity.
Since there was no electricity before 1947 and much of the good was grown right on the farms, the cost of living was quite different from the cost of living today. Among the initial homesteaders of Grove was Dr. Wells. The rent for his house was $4.50 per month. He paid his chauffeur, Dee Wilson, fifty centers a day to drive him to his destinations in a horse and buggy.
The early residents had many ways of entertaining. These included picnics, visits to neighbor’s homes, box suppers, ice cream socials, horse races, baseball, steam swings, balloon ascensions, sack races, and fireworks. Grove also had a string band, which gave several concerts. These concerts were usually given in Gibson Hall, a band stage built in 1906 by Captain Walton and located in the city square.
TRANSPORTATION IN GROVE
By 1905, Grove’s population had reached twelve hundred. This growing population needed roads. Soon dirt roads were formed and were utilized daily by the townsfolk. The first strip of paved road around Grove was the section of old highway 66 between Afton and Miami. Only one car could drive on it at a time. This piece of pavement can still be seen ½ mile east of Afton towards Buffalo Ranch.
One of the earliest means of transportation was not on land. The Carey Ferry, established in 1840, was located on the east side of Grand River about three or four miles from Grove. In 1903, a toll bridge was built over the river and the ferry was no longer used.
A faster mode of transportation was available when railroads were introduced. In 1900, J.M. Bayless of Cassville, Missouri built the Frisco Railroad, a forty-six mile long railroad that ran from Rogers, Arkansas to Grove. The railroad made it easier for the locals to ship livestock and produce to distant markets. Grove’s depot was located north of Mill creek on the corner of Main and Remsen streets.
The building of the railroad was considered one of the major advances in the community’s industry at that time. However, as cars became more numerous in the area, the railroad suffered a decrease in business. As a result, in August 1940, the State Corporation Commission asked the St. Louis and San Francisco Railways to discontinue service to Grove.
Later, buses were introduced to the area. These buses provided more efficient transportation, making it possible to transport larger groups of people to more destinations. Burnet’s Grey was the name given to the bus stop for Grove’s two daily stops.
GROVE HOLDS COUNTY SEAT
The first site of a county office in Grove was the Wood Brothers’ Real Estate office. When Grove had control of the county seat, it was located in the Wood Brothers’ property. The loss of the county seat has been the source of much rivalry between the towns of Grove and Jay. This rivalry began almost one hundred years ago when the county seat was moved from Grove to Jay. Anyone attending a local football game between Grove and Jay will agree this rivalry still exists in a big way.
In 1907, delegates of the Constitutional Convention originally selected Grove as their choice for the county seat because it was the largest town and the first to have a railroad. Eventually the county’s southern residents complained Grove was too far to travel to conduct business. Voters in this part of the county felt the seat should be in a more centralized location.
On December 8, 1908, Jay challenged Grove’s possession of the county seat. The people in Grove did not take voting in this election seriously. The possibility of actually moving the county seat to a woodsy nearly unsettled area seemed too remote. Nevertheless, when the votes were counted, Jay had won by nineteen. However, legal appeals interfered, and the transfer was not until 1911.
Jay remains the county seat today, but Grove is the largest and fastest growing town in Delaware County. In 1980 the growth was so significant that the people of Grove, by a vote of 251 to 196, decided to change Grove from a town to a city. The city limits now encompass an area of about fifteen square miles. In 2006 the City of Grove’s population is approximately 6,000 within the city limits, and an estimated 18,000 within a five-mile radius outside the city limits, plus an estimated 200,000+ tourists visit Grove and Grand Lake on an annual basis.
GROWTH BRINGS MANY RELIGIOUS DENOMINATIONS TO GROVE
The growth of Grove was influenced by many factors. Religious denominations – including Methodists, Baptists, Christians, and Presbyterians – were arriving into the Grove area in the early 1900’s. All denominations met in the Old Cherokee Schoolhouse until the First Methodist Church building was completed in 1900. After completion of the church, all denominations held serves there on alternating Sundays. As congregations increased, the building could not serve all the different churches and each began to build separate churches of its own.
The Methodist Church was not only home for all religious services in the community, but also was used as a school during the week until November, 1904, when classes began in the new Grove School.
GROVE'S FIRST SCHOOLS
Missionaries built the first schools in the area in the 1820’s. These schools were primarily for Indian children. Recognizing the value of educating its young people, the Cherokee Nation provided for their education in the Constitution of 1839. By 1845, the Cherokee National Council had three Indian schools operating in the Delaware District.
White children were permitted to attend these schools, but were required to pay tuition. As more and more white families moved into the area, they built their own schools. Tredwell Remsen established the first subscription school, called Chigger Hill. It was a one-room log house located between West Third and Fourth Street and tuition was $1.00 per month. The students had school for three months in the fall and had a nine-month vacation. The first school bus was built by Bob Conner and carried two dozen children.
The first public school was built in 1904. To pay for the materials for the schoolhouse, local mill owner W.T. Killman organized the idea of selling bonds. Many community leaders participated in the construction of this two-story, four-room brick building. Its only source of heat was a small coal-burning stove. It had an outside staircase and an outdoor privy. The principal of this school was Lana Wright.
In 1908, another four rooms were added and Grove had its first eighth grade commencement. Records show the graduating class consisted of twelve girls and five boys. W.H. Kilgore was the first Superintendent from 1910-1912.
In 1911, a new two-story building was built on the school site, using bricks, which were made in Grove. A twelfth grade was added to the high school for the 1911-1912 term and in May 1912 the first senior class graduated.
The new Grove School system, which was one of the largest in the county, had a total of eight faculty members. Grove Schools’ estimated expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1911, were $3,890.00. The principal was paid $90 per month, while the average pay for the teachers was $35 to $50 per month.
Grove was still growing and by the 1918-1919 term the school had over 300 students. In 1923, Grove voted $32,000 for a modern school plant to be building during the coming year. In 1927 Grove received $2,500 in state aid, which was the largest amount given to any Delaware county school district. In 1931, due to the growth of the student body and need for student transportation, Grove Schools hired four drivers who built their own bus bodies. By 1939, they had six buses.
By 1949, the school system in Grove had twenty-one teachers and 475 students. As the Grove School improved, several community schools were annexed with Grove. These included Stoney Point, Ketcher, Delaware, Peter’s Prairie, Butler, Cayuga, Starr, Olympus, Oak Grove and Zena. Eight-grade students from Turkey Ford also added to the enrollment.
During the next two decades, the Vocational building was completed, the new gymnasium and a football stadium were added, a four-room elementary was built between the old gym and the grade school, and the new high school building was opened in the fall of 1967. In 1976, the school had grown to sixty-six teachers and 1,360 students. The high school, built in 1923, was torn down and a middle school was built in the same location in 1977. In 2000, a new high school was built at the location of Hwy 10 and Ford Road.
The Oklahoma State Department of Education Finance Division recorded Grove School District I-2 term of 1985-1986 with 1412 average daily attendance and a Valuation of $38,826,031.00. Jim Bradford was the superintendent of schools with a 109 member professional staff. In 1991-1992 the school had 118 faculty members, the enrollment from pre-school through 12th grade was 1,631 and the superintendent was Joe Ethridge.
The superintendent beginning in July 1992 was De. Herbert Bacon. Tom Steen became the superintendent in 1994 and in 2006 is currently the superintendent.
INDUSTRY FLOURISHES IN GROVE
Industries played a significant roll in the town’s development. Before statehood, people from Grove found minerals and oil in the Grand River valley and surrounding area. In 1905, J.C. Holland and W.J. Forbes sank a mineshaft near Grand River in which they discovered oil in his well at the Huckins Hotel.
It wasn’t long until a crowd had gathered and eventually carried off buckets and bottles full of oil to burn in their lamps. In 1917, citizens drilling for water discovered a large quantity of oil northwest of Grove. However, there was little interest in the oil because this particular excursion they were looking for water.
Oil was not the only area industry during the early growth of Grove; agriculture also played an important part in the economy. In 1912, peaches became a very productive crop for many area residents. Later, quite a few apple orchards were started.
During the 1920’s strawberries and cotton were tried. As the result of the success of the cotton crop, Reed-Graham-Morton Gin Company of Muskogee built a cotton gin. The gin lowered the cost of cottonseeds to $1.25 a bushel, which at that time was about one half of the regular market price. The cotton gin was later moved to Ketchum.
After the failure of cotton and strawberries due to short growing seasons, farmers tried raising tomatoes. A canning factory was built to process the crop. The cannery operated for two years until farmers lost interest in growing tomatoes, and the boom died.
A major development that contributed to the history of this community was the building of the lake, which brought hydroelectric power to northeastern Oklahoma. The United States government approved twenty million dollars for the construction of a dam across Grand River. It was built by W.P.A. during Franklin D. Roosevelt’s administration and named Pensacola Dam. Although the idea for Pensacola Dam was conceived in 1890, the government didn’t approve the project until 1937.
Pensacola Dam, located between Langley and Disney, is the longest multiple-arch dam in the word. It measures one mile long and reaches ten stories high. The lake has 59,200 surface acres of water, 1,300 miles of shoreline, and stretches approximately sixty-six miles from its headwaters near Miami, Oklahoma to the dam. Ninety percent of the lake lies within the boundaries of Delaware County.
Not everyone was enthusiastic about the building of the lake. For example, Governor Red Phillips sent the state militia to the dam on March 13, 1940, because he thought there were plans to close the gates. Two weeks later the governor was given a restraining order to keep him from interfering with the project. The gates were closed on an April night in 1940. With this new the Governor proclaimed that the engineers “went down like a thief in the night and closed the gates.
BRIDGES BUILT OVER GRAND LAKE O' the CHEROKEES
After the lake filled, two main bridges provided access to Grove. On the north, Sailboat Bridge was built at a cost of $369,000 This bridge was 2550 feet long and 120 feet high in the center allowing a sailboat with a 25-foot mast to pass easily under it. Preparation to construct a new four-lane bridge begun in 1991, the new bridge was completed in 2000 at a cost of $25 million dollars.
On the south side of town, Honey Creek Bridge was opened in 1925 before the lake filled. However, when the lake did fill, the bridge was torn down; as a result, Honey Creek Ferry was established in 1942 and used until the Honey Creek Bridge was completed in 1946 at a cost of $188,000.
In December 2005 a four-lane bridge was completed at a cost of $11.5 million.
VISITOR'S & TOURIST'S FLOCK TO GROVE & THE NEW' GRAND LAKE
Records show visitors came to fish and vacation on Grand River as far back as 1907. Tourist camps charged one dollar a day on Honey Creek and free campgrounds were located at Grove Springs. Thus, the area has always been an attraction for tourists.
Once the lake was created, it opened new possibilities for entertainment. Since the filling of the lake, tourism and recreation have become Grove’s major industries. Grove is home to many tourist attractions: Har-Ber Village, a re-creation of an early frontier town; the Grandiose, a trimaran excursion sailboat, The Cherokee Queen I and II, which provides riverboat tours of the lake; Lendownwood Gardens, a Japanese garden; Kountry Kuzins Jamboree, a music and comedy show; and the annual Pelican Festival, a celebration of the American White Pelican, are only a drew of the tourist attractions. Retirees have also found the Grand Lake area appealing. In 1987 Rand-McNally rated the Grand Lake area as the fourth best place in the United States to retire due to the beautiful scenery of the lake and the low cost of living.
An article from The Grove Sun, August 3, 1939, stated: “Grove’s being located on a high hill overlooking Grand Lake, and having as it does the picturesque mountain stream Elk River only four miles to the north and Honey Creek, another clear water mountain stream only a mile to the west; you be the judge as the great advantage this gives Grove from a fisherman’s and recreation standpoint.”
Grove’s growth as a typical small town changed forever when the development of Grand Lake o’the Cherokees vastly influenced the population and wealth of this once-small community, making it one of the foremost recreation and tourist areas of the nation.
Grove has always been a progressive community and is still looking forward to a bright future. In fact, on the nation’s tri-centennial celebration in 2076, the community plans to unearth a time capsule buried in 1976 under the community center flagpole. Another general will look back with pride on the history of their community.
GRAND LAKE LANDMARK SAILBOAT BRIDGE
Bridge 2106 1883 X, known as the Sailboat Bridge, was a major project of the depression era.
Gracefully arching over the north end of Grand Lake O' the Cherokees in Delaware County.
Sailboat Bridge was the state's second-longest bridge over water when built in 1938-39 by the Grand River Dam Authority.
Officially called Grove Highway Bridge, the structure carried U.S. 59 from Grove to Fairland. Sailboat Bridge was one of forty-seven federally funded,
Depression-era projects involved in the building of Pensacola Dam on the Neosho River to create hydroelectric power.
Tulsa's Holway and Neuffer Engineers designed the 2,548-foot-long, twenty-nine-foot-wide, two-lane structure consisting of twenty-seven spans set on massive concrete piers.
Fifteen spans consisted of 120-foot-long, steel deck trusses. An unusual design, the bridge deck curved upward in a parabolic arch about forty feet higher at the center than at the ends.
Tall sailboats could pass underneath, perhaps giving rise to the popular name "Sailboat Bridge."
In 1939 the design received national recognition from American Institute of Steel Construction.
Over the decades, as traffic increased, the bridge deteriorated.
In February 2000 construction began on two new two-lane bridges, one using sixteen of the old bridge's original piers.
Built at a cost of $24.5 million and opened in 2001, the new bridge was the state's most expensive ever, and the project was the largest construction contract ever awarded by the Oklahoma Department of Transportation.
The new bridge is one of only a few segmental-type bridges ever built west of the Mississippi River.
At 3,044 feet in length, the new Sailboat Bridge remains the state's second-longest bridge over water, surpassed only by Roosevelt Bridge over Lake Texoma.
INDIAN LANDMARK, THE CAYUGA MISSION
There are many stories and legends of Mathias Splitlog the "Millionaire Indian." According to a federal land allotment report, Mathias was born in 1812 in Canada.
Another report gives his birthplace as New York State. Some sources report he was a French-Canadian. Others say he was Wyandotte, and others claim he was part Cayugan. Another report was that he was stolen by Indians when a baby and reared by the Wyandottes in Ohio and at the age of fifteen was made a scout for the Indians.
In 1843 Splitlog, along with about eight hundred members of the Ohio Wyandotte tribe, migrated to Kansas; a movement as harsh as the more publicized "Trail of Tears". The Wyandottes were assigned a tract of 148,110 acres on the Neosho River.
This proved to be unsuitable for the tribe so they purchased thirty-nine sections of land from the Delawares. The new holdings, located in the fork of the Missouri and the Kansas Rivers, encompassed the present location of Kansas City, Kansas.
Mathias married Eliza Charloe Barnett, a great-niece of Chief Jacques. He later built a log home on a small hill overlooking his land along the Kansas (present name is Kaw) river bottoms. After he and his family were settled, he built a grist mill, and later he built a saw mill. Both mills were run by a steam engine.
For a man without education Mathias was a mechanical genius. He could study a piece a machinery and soon build an exact replica. In 1860, using new principles he had reasoned out, Splitlog constructed a steamboat to ply the Missouri river, carrying freight to the small settlements along the water, highway.
It had an engine of tremendous power; however, no one but Mathias could operate it. Then the area was gripped in the frenzy of the Civil War and Mathias became a soldier in the Union Army. Mathias was an engineer on this boat, and while they were transporting a regiment to the battle area, it was captured near Lexington, Missouri.
A court martial was held and Mathias was paroled and he walked all the way back to his home.
In September 1863, the Union Pacific Railroad crossed the Kansas river near Splitlog's sawmill and lumber yard. Splitlog was spellbound by the railroad work and especially by the excavating machine that could do the work of a hundred men. Not even the steamboats had fascinated Mathias like the first locomotive he saw.
It was a love that he never relinquished and had a bearing on his later life. With his land located as it was, Mathias began to amass his great fortune with the Union Pacific paying a fabulous sum for the right-of-way and several acres on which to locate railroad shops.
Always cautious and suspicious in his dealings with the white man, Mathias began swinging some shrewd land deals, The largest part of his allotment on the hill, still referred to as "Splitlog Hill," he sold to a syndicate that plotted early Kansas City, Kansas.
These land sales created international recognition and he was known as the "Millionaire Indian."
By 1855 the white men realized that the Indians were living on some of most valuable land in the area. Then began again the familiar story of agitation for Indian removal. By 1857 most of the Wyandottes had either sold or lost their Kansas holdings so they were homeless.
It was at time that the Seneca tribe paid an age-old debt to the Wyandottes by giving them 30,000 acres of land across the north end of the Seneca reservation in Indian Territory.
In 1874 Mathias sold the remainder of his holdings in Kansas and moved his family to Indian Territory. He chose as his home an area near the Cowskin and the Grand Rivers. There was a large spring on his land which he named "Cayuga" in honor of his wife who was a member of the Cayuga tribe.
The Cayuga tribe meeting grounds are located north of the Elk River area of Grand Lake. Sitting on the bank of the lake in a grove of virgin oak timber, the location is ideal for their monthly council meetings and yearly ceremonial dances. These dances annually draw well over 2,000 people during the week long festival.
One of the first enterprises established by the Splitlog in Indian Territory was the installation of a sawmill. He also built a grist mill. He put in a ferry and built a general store. Mathias built a fine home which was embellished with cupolas and, as was the style of the era, a plentiful amount of architectural "gingerbread."
He also built a well equipped blacksmith shop. There no schools so Splitlog organized a subscription school, furnished a building, and allowed the teacher to retain all that she collected.
After the other businesses were in successful operation, Splitlog started construction of a large factory which, when completed, contained three stories and a basement. Here he began the manufacture of wagons, buggies and two-seated hacks. All of the wooden parts for the vehicles came from Splitlog's own sawmill.
This factory also made coffins from well-seasoned walnut. When there was a death in the community all other work at the factory ceased while a coffin was being built.
The post office of Cayuga Springs was established in June 1894 with Joseph Splitlog, one of Mathias sons, as the first postmaster. It was about this time that the far-seeing Splitlog discerned that the days of the hack and the horse were numbered, and that if Cayuga were to continue to develop it must have a railroad. Enlisting the aid of friends and pouring his own wealth and energy the project.
Splitlog promoted the three-million-dollar "Splitlog Line" from Joplin, Missouri to Neosho, Missouri, thence to Splitlog City. On August 15, 1887 the road was completed to Neosho, Missouri and a silver spike celebration was held, Then on June 30, 1869 another celebration was held, this time at Splitlog City, the new end of the track.
After it was completed to Splitlog City, there were many couples who rode the Splitlog line from Joplin to Splitlog City to spend their honeymoon at the fancy, ornate Occidental Hotel built by the millionaire Indian.
Legend tells that Splitlog paid his payroll in gold. The gold was transported from Cayuga Springs in a wagon driven by Chief Splitlog and guarded by his heavily armed sons.
It was about this time that Splitlog was swindled in a fake gold mining scheme. Clay, a director of the railroad came to Splitlog with a story of the strike in McDonald County, Missouri. Splitlog purchased forty acres where the strike was made, plus many acres surrounding the farm.
Splitlog Land and Mining Company was formed and leases upon five thousand acres of land. On the road and trails leading to Splitlog City were seen white canvas-topped wagons with Bound for Splitlog" painted on their sides. It wasn't long until everyone was aware the entire mining venture was a hoax and that the mine had been salted with "Fool's Gold."
M.C. Clay left the country and as a last gesture of honest effort to set things right, Splitlog sacrificed other property and paid off in cash the losses suffered by innocent persons. This display of generosity almost broke him.
Mathias Splitlog was adopted into the Seneca tribe and in 1890. He was elected Chief of the Senecas, The day of the election he gave a feast for his friends and fellow tribesmen. Fifteen hundred loaves of bread were hauled from the bakery at Southwest City. Three beefs were prepared to feed the multitude. The Indian band, which was outfitted and sponsored by Splitlog, lent a festive air to the occasion.
In 1892 the railroad had been extended to Sulphur Springs, Arkansas. Arthur E. Stilwell started dickering for the Splitlog Line. Finally the hard-pressed owners sold for the fabulously low price of $50,000.00. Age was beginning to tell on Mathias Splitlog and he had already lost twice that much on the line.
Although not as devout a Catholic as his wife, Splitlog became more interested in religion as the years rolled by. So in 1886 he began plans for a church to be built south of the factory. Constructed a hewn limestone from the area, the inside was embellished with beautifully hand-carved imported wood.
Starting at the right front window and proceeding in a counter-clockwise route, the name "Splitlog" is spelled out, one letter over each arched stained-glass window. The arch forming the doorway is formed of fifteen stones, each of which is carved with an Indian symbol.
When Eliza Splitlog died in 1894, the church was still unfinished but her funeral was held in the partially completed building. Work continued on the church with several interruptions when Splitlog had to journey to Washington, D.C. on tribal business. It was practically completed on November 25, 1896 when it was dedicated. It was blessed by Bishop Meerschaert and by Father Ketcham.
The bronze bell, which had been cast in Belgium, first tolled on memory of Eliza Splitlog during the dedication. This is the only church in Oklahoma and perhaps in the United States which was built solely by an Indian from his own funds for the religious use of all people.
Splitlog was now eighty-five years of age and the shadows of his life were growing longer and longer. It was on December 22, 1896, the Splitlog again started a journey to Washington on behalf of his adopted people. On the way, he sickened and soon after he arrived in the capital city, he developed pneumonia and died soon thereafter.
His body was returned to Cayuga where Requiem Mass was said on January 14, 1897 in the church the old man had dreamed, financed and built.
Mathias Splitlog was buried beside his wife a few hundred feet from the Cayuga Mission. Almost single-handedly Splitlog had hammered a wilderness into a progressive, civilized way of life. Few photos of the family exist today, but this one may be Israel and Sarah Splitlog.
Today the old church bell still rings. It calls the faithful to worship every Sunday morning at 8:30am. Loud and clear, its clarion peals over the streams and valleys of what was once the Seneca Nation.
More recently, the church was purchased from the Methodist church by a private individual in 1949. He did major repairs on the building and received the original bell from a church in Nowata, Oklahoma. The pews and alter in the front of the church were purchased from a Catholic church in the early 1950's. The pews in the balcony are the original ones.
The Lord's Supper painting on the front of the alter was very faded when first purchased, so it was removed and repainted by an artist related to the private individual. The church has now changed ownership from the private owner to his son who has done additional restorations. Because of the blessings of God, the church is now a full-time place of worship for many today.
THE AMERICAN WHITE PELICAN & OTHER MIGRATORY FOWL
The American White Pelican - Pelicans have lived in our world for over 35,000,000 years and have changed very little in that period of time - a truly pre-historic creature. We are fortunate in the Grand Lake area that the American White Pelican spends time here during both spring and fall migration.
They have adapted well to the many reservoirs in Oklahoma, enjoying the abundance of gizzard shad and other non-gamefish, as well as the many quiet secluded areas where they may rest undistrubed by people.
During Fall migration, the birds arrive in our area in mid to late September, staying until November. Here they rest and feed before flying on to their winter home along the gulf of Mexico.
The Pelicans are usually sighted on the northern end of the lake in the Twin Bridges area near Wyandotte and gradually move down the lake as more of the flock arrives.
As with all wild creatures their whereabouts can be hard to predict as they might be found in the shallows anywhere on the lake. However, here are a few favorite spots they can be found:
- On either side of Sailboat Bridge on US 59 North of Grove
- In Elk River area near Number 10 Bridge on Hwy 10 northeast of Grove
- In Carey Bay on west side of Grove
- In Honey Creek at the south edge of Grove
- In Horse Creek near Bernice
- In the Twin Bridges area near Wyandotte
- In the Wolf Creek area at City Park off 16th Strteet in Grove
- In the Grand River below the Pensacola Dam at the south end of the lake
- Shallow end of Drowning Creek in a south end arm of the lake
White Pelicans are protected under the Migratory Bird Act.
Bald Eagles... Oklahoma is an important wintering area for the bald eagle and GRDA is fortunate to be able to provide habitat to support their presence.
In early December, the first of many bald eagles to spend part of their winter in the Grand Lake and Lake Hudson areas was spotted below Pensacola Dam and they are also finding their way to the tailrace waters below Robert S. Kerr Dam.
Most of the migrating eagles in northeastern Oklahoma come from Canada and the Great Lake states. Their numbers should peak in January through February before they head north in mid-March.
The best GRDA viewing areas vary from year to year. However, the waters below Kerr and Pensacola dams are always a good bet. The eagles like to perch in tall trees below the dams until they are ready to feed. The best time to view the eagles is in the early morning, especially when GRDA is generating at the dams.
Migratory Fowl - In 1994, GRDA began an innovative seeding project along the shores of Grand Lake. By dropping the lake to an elevation of 741 feet (above sea level), thousands of acres of mudflat areas were exposed.
GRDA then used a cropduster plane to seed these mudflat areas with 10,000 pounds of Japanese millet. For a month following the seeding, the lake was kept at the lower level to allow the seed to germinate and grow.
GRDA then raised the lake back to its normal elevation allowing acres and acres of new vegetation to serve as a food source for the various species of migratory waterfowl that pass through the Grand Lake area in the fall and winter.
And below the surface, the rich vegetation serves as protective cover for the young fish that are hatched out each spring. The project began in 1994 and was expected to last five years.
The millet seeding project benefits several different species.
Biologists have sighted Canda Geese, Mallards, Blue-winged Teal, Green-winged Teal, Gadwalls, Widgeons, Pintails, Redheads, Wood Ducks, Cormorants, Pelicans, Mergansers, Grebes, Ruddy Ducks, Goldeneyes, Lesser Scaups, Ringnecks, Canvasbacks, Buffleheads, Shovelers, White-fronted Geese, Loons and other species around the lake when the last survey was done a few years ago.
The cooling and settling ponds on the grounds of GRDA's Coal-Fired Complex are also a haven for Canada Geese
HAR-BER VILLAGE MUSEUM
Har-Ber Village is one of the largest antique museums in the United States, located on the shores of Grand Lake O' The Cherokees in Grove, Oklahoma.
Harvey Jones 1900-1989 Bernice Jones 1905-2003
Built as a gift to the public from Harvey and Bernice Jones, Har-Ber Village is a reconstructed turn-of-the century village of over one hundred buildings and collections.
Har-Ber Village is a place from which dreams are made. There is something to see and enjoy for people of all ages.
From March thru November of each year approximately one-half million tourists visit buildings and displays containing a multitude of American antiques.
1993 marked the 25th Anniversary of it's founding, and the Village is still growing.
As you walk along the paths and among the log cabins, consider the enormous effort it took to make the village a reality.
Then consider that this village came about because of the love and devotion two Americans had for each other and for our heritage.
Not only did they spend their money, but they spent thousands of hours attending auctions, sorting and selecting articles and placing each piece, one by one, in its proper place.
Now consider that this was all done in their spare time and on weekends.
Like others before you, I am sure that as you move from station to station you will begin to realize the personal touch of Harvey and Bernice Jones on each display.
We hope you will enjoy the sights as much as we do.
Har-Ber Village is truly a preservation of the past for today and future generations.
The setting for the village just west of Grove, Okla. is the wooded, rolling hills on the shore of the Grand Lake of the Cherokees. Purchased in 1944 as a place for a summer home, Harvey and Bernice Jones never expected to build an antique village. It was established in 1968 when Harvey built Bernice a Church on the banks of the lake from bricks handmade before the Civil War. The bricks came from three huge fireplaces in the old Van Winkle home in War Eagle, Ark.
The stained glass windows were made in Fort Smith, Ark. especially for the church, and the pulpit came from the Zion Methodist Church, six miles southeast of Springdale, Ark. which was built in 1850. In front of the church and facing the lake is the white marble Statue of Christ with out-stretched arms that was sent from Italy.
After the Church was built and the Statue of Christ was in place, vacationers boating on the Grand Lake started coming ashore. Bernice thought a cabin for the preacher and his family would be nice. Harvey found one, dating back to the 1840's, and brought it to the Village to be recreated log by log.
Next came the Schoolhouse. This authentic one-room building was found near Goshen, Ark. During the move some of the original desks were found in its attic, as well as other school supplies of the day.
"From this beginning" Bernice said," one thing led to another and now there are more than 100 buildings, each of which houses its own display." She added," Harvey loved auctions, and we attended dozens over a four state area. We would also hear about items such as the Hearse, which we located north of Oklahoma City, Okla. or the Bank with solid mahogany fixtures which was purchased in Carterville, Mo. Its closing was caused by the Great Depression of 1929."
As you stroll through the village you will literally see thousands of items that represent America's past. A few of the highlights in no particular order include:
The largest collection of authentic Log Cabins in the Midwest, such as the one from the Boston Mountains in Arkansas. It was rebuilt without level or square.
The Mayor House is the oldest log cabin at Har-Ber Village. This old house was fastened together with wooded pegs and between the cracks in the logs the builder used thin rock and red clay. This was known as chinking.
The Steam Engine was used to power a large sawmill at Prairie Grove, Ark.
The old time Water Wheel was designed by Harvey and built in the shop of Jones Truck Lines, Inc. A single cup of water will cause the wheel to turn. In the Doll and Glass House there are more than 100 dolls wearing dresses designed and handmade by Helen Scarborough of Springdale, Ark.
The Drug Store with soda fountain and prescription case were part of an old drugstore at Pettigrew, Ark., owned by Helen Barker. Most of the medicine bottles and prescriptions hanging on the case came from this drugstore.
The Barber Shop is full of authentic antique straight razors, shaving mugs, and other items. There is a fancy barber chair and shoeshine chair.
At the Stagecoach Inn the taped music is played by Morris Clarkson of Springdale. The equipment including the bar and luggage came from six states and is very old.
The Courthouse is typical of those a century ago. The pictures are of “Hanging” Judge Parker, a federal judge in Fort Smith, Ark. The Hanging Gallows are a replica of a structure used in the early days of Fort Smith. One unique detail is the 13 steps and two hanging ropes with 13 twists.
You will see the Dentists Office with an authentic foot operated treadle, drill, and bellows. The Doctor’s Office of Drs. Mock, Baggett and Sisco and the Post Office with fixtures which are used in the Post Office at Aurora, Ark.
For the collector, you will find displays of pottery made by Francoma, Roseville, Weller, McCoy, Hall and Van Briggle. Milk and carnival glass, pressed glass, custard glass, cut glass and flow blue china are also on display. There are old time hats and dress shops, mineral collections, bricks from 49 states, a large collection of farm machinery, a shoe shop and a beauty shop.
There is a Boy and Girl Scout collection, military collection and building of Indian artifacts. There are gun collections, old maps, newspapers, and even Ozark Mountain still.
“Ninety-eight percent of the items in Har-Ber Village were purchased by the Joneses and the rest was donated”, said Jim Johnson, Trustee of the Village. A map and a complete listing and description of each Village building is in the Self-Guided Tour Brochure which can be picked up at the various locations around the complex.
The Village, named by Bernice using the first three letters of each of their names, can be summed up from the inscription on the beautiful Bell Tower in the center of the village:
"A sincere effort to preserve for future generations the way of life as experienced by our forefathers who carved out of the wilderness this wonderful country we know and enjoy today".
Village Established September 20, 1968.
Harvey and Bernice Jones.
Sweet Annie Herb Garden
"An Educational Project of Sweet Annie Herb Club and Har-Ber Village."
Opened in Spring, 2000 - Of all the plants that grow in our gardens, herbs have a very special place.
They have a mystical contribution to the quality of our lives. In this special garden, visitors can learn the value of herbs - study them, grow them, and use them.
Group tours and presentations available.
"An Adventure of Discovery, Appreciation and Conservation of Our Natural World."
Opened in May, 2000 - This environmental learning center and scenic nature center, with "Eco Earl, The Learning Squirrel" will educate visitors on the fragility of the environment and create an awareness of the unique natural ecosystem of northeastern Oklahoma.
Group tours and presentations available.
Native American Art Gallery
Opened August 30, 2000
Dedication: May 26, 2001 during Har-Ber village "I remember ..." Days
This exhibit will focus on Native American art contributions and highlight an educational presentation of Native American ancient cultures
Har-Ber Village is solely supported by endowment funds directed from Har-Ber Village Foundation, established by Harvey Jones (1900-1989) and Bernice Jones (1905- 2003).
In 1918 the Jones began ownership and operation of the Springdale Transportation Company. In 1933 the company became Jones Truck Lines, Inc. (JTL) and over the next sixty years became the largest privately-owned truck line in the United States.
When sold in 1980 the company had 41 terminals in 15 states (including Oklahoma), traveled over 100,000 miles daily, had 2,500 transportation vehicles and employed 1,500 people.
A new Transportation Museum and Welcome Center will emphasize the importance of our transportation system to young and old.
With interactive transportation exhibits it will provide a "collection of documents and artifacts chronologizing the evolution and significance of transportation as it relates to the "Intermodal Transportation System" of Oklahoma 1900 - 2000.
ANNUAL CHRISTMAS LANE TRADITION AXED
BY GROVE ATRA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE DIRECTOR
The Traditional Christmas Lane in Grove Axed
Once a very popular Christmas Tradition and tourist attraction was one of the very first things axed when the new and current Grove Area Chamber of Commerce Executive Director achieved after being employeed her first year
Christmas Lane was began by Mr and Mrs Huber Logue of Pla-Port Resort, one of our many resorts that hug the water's edge.
This mobile home park every year dug out thousands and thousands of holiday lighting, exhibits, animation and holiday cheer to treat the area visitors
There was never a fee to turn your vehicle lights and drive slowly through the resort in amazement of all the lights and color
Thousands of people came from the Four State area and further to enjoy this festive lighting exhibit
When Huber Logue passed away the management of Pla-Port decided to stop the annual display with the understanding that the
Grove Area Chamber of Commerce would continue the event in the Honey Creek State Park just down from the original location
The area business owner's were sold displays by the Chamber and the event continued in the State Park with all the new displays being added to the
one's Pla-Port had continually displayed
When the new GACofC Executive Director was hired she stopped the annual tradition "because there was no one interested in being in charge of the event
I thought that's one of the things the Executive Director would do?
This decission cost the area businesses thousands of dollars that they depended on during the off season
Now a few of the exhibits are haphazardly displayed in front of the Community Center, wonder how long that will last.
Click Here & Voice Your Concern Concerning This Idiotic Decision
You may also call, write or fax...
The Grove Area Chamber of Commerce - 310 S. Main, Grove, OK 74344
(918) 786-9079 - Fax (918) 786-2909
YOU'VE HEARD THE STORY, NOW HEAR THE TRUTH
Silencing Voices of Dissent...
Most of the residents of our sleepy little town are aware of the theft of thousands of copies of the Grand Lake Visitor Magazine
The Grove area is popular for Good Ole' Boy Politics, and this is just one occassion where the Grove School System and it's employee's were allowed to act exactly like the article they tried so hard to destroy described in black and white
Giving validity to the information that was one it's pages more than the simple reading of the article ever would have had!
What gained National Recognition and was named... The Paper Caper occurred in Grove, Oklahoma on the 2nd of March, 1996.
It involved a relatively minor criminal offense and one that should have been handled in a straightforward and above-board manner by both the police and the courts.
As is so often the case in Delaware County, justice got side tracked in the rush to "make the problem go away".
As a result, justice was never served, the victim of the crime was never made whole and what little respect for the law previously existing in Delaware County was further diminished amidst allegations of both prosecutorial and judicial misconduct.
Throughout the following pages we will take you back in time for a fascinating glimpse at Oklahoma's Junk Justice system in action.
This is a story of one of "the little people" trying to do the right thing, against all odds and ultimately in a terribly flawed justice system.
TO CONTINUE CLICK HERE
THE GREAT STATE OF OKLAHOMA
Oklahoma's current population is 3,450,654 (2000,estimated)
Oklahoma is comprised of 77 counties.
Oklahoma covers 69,919 square miles.
Guthrie was the first state capitol of Oklahoma.
Oklahoma's state capitol is the only one in the world with an oil well drilled beneath it.
Oklahoma is the third largest gas producing state in the nation.
The Nellie Johnstone oil well located at Johnston Park in Bartlesville, Oklahoma, had the first flowing commercial well in the world.
The world's largest air material center is Tinker Air Force Base in Midwest City.
Fort Sill at Lawton is the Army's principal artillery school.
Pawhuska, Oklahoma, had the first Boy Scout troop in America (1909).
Sylvan Goldman of Oklahoma created the first rolling supermarket cart.
Oklahoma has 43 colleges and universities.
Oklahoma is the winter quarters for more circuses than any other state.
Oklahoma's average annual temperature is a pleasant 60.5 degrees.
OKLAHOMA LITTLE KNOWN FACTS
The word "Oklahoma" comes from two Choctaw Indian words meaning "red man." More American Indian tribes are headquartered in Oklahoma than any other state and 39 of those are federally recognized nations.
The aerosol can was invented in Bartlesville; the parking meter in Oklahoma; and the shopping cart in Ardmore.
Oklahoma City is the third largest city in land area (608 sq miles), just behind Jacksonville FL (759 sq miles) and way behind Anchorage AK (1698 sq miles).
Oklahoma's state capitol building is the only capitol in the world with an oil well under it. Although its legal description is Capitol Site #1, it is referred to as Petunia #1 because it was originally drilled in the middle of a flower bed.
Oklahoma's Cimarron county is bordered by more states than any other U.S. county: Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Colorado and Kansas.
Oklahoma ranks fourth in the nation in the production of all wheat, fourth in cattle and calf production, fifth in the production of pecans, sixth in peanuts and eighth in peaches.
The tallest building in Oklahoma is Williams Center in Tulsa. The second tallest building is CityPlex Towers, also in Tulsa. The Williams Center (also know as BOK Tower) is 667 feet tall, the CityPlex Tower is 648 feet tall.
According to the National Restaurant Association, the most popular month to dine out is August, followed by July, May, June, October and December. The least popular month to dine out is February.
Oklahoma has a statewide area of 69,919 square miles, ranking 18th in the United States in terms of size.
Oklahoma's two most populous cities are Oklahoma City, with 472,220 residents, and Tulsa, with 390,437. The next largest cities are Norman, population 87,290 and Lawton, population 86,028.
The highest point in Oklahoma is Black Mesa, located in the Panhandle at 4,973 feet. The lowest point in the state is east of Idabel in southeast Oklahoma at 287 feet above sea level.
Oklahoma has four mountain ranges: Ouachita, Arbuckle, Wichita and Kiamichi, all in the southern half of the state. Forests cover approximately 24 percent of the state.
Oklahoma is second only to California in the size of its Native American population. Many of the 252,420 American Indians living in the state (8 percent of population) are descended from 67 tribes who inhabited Indian Territory (what is now the state of Oklahoma). Tribal headquarters for 39 tribes are in Oklahoma. The city of Tulsa ranks second in the United States for total number of American Indian residents with 48,196. Oklahoma City ranks fourth, with 45,720 American Indian residents.
Oklahoma has a statewide population of 3,258,000, the 27th most populated state in the United States.
Oklahoma ranks fourth out of 50 states for Americans who say they are of two or more races. The state with the largest population of multiracial people is Hawaii (21.4%), followed by Alaska (5.4%), California (4.7%) and Oklahoma (4.5%). Source: 2000 Census
The first parking meter was created in Oklahoma and installed in Oklahoma City in 1935.
Oklahoma has four mountain ranges: Ouachitas, Arbuckles, Wichitas, and the Ozarks
Forests cover 24 percent of Oklahoma
The Poteau River is the only river in Oklahoma that flows north.
The world's largest single deposit of pure alabaster may be found in the Alabaster caverns near Freedom, Oklahoma.
Oklahoma is linked to the world's waters by the McClellan-Kerr Navigation system--flowing on the Arkansas River through Arkansas to the Mississippi River to the Gulf of Mexico.
The highest elevation in the state is Black Mesa, 4,978 feet, in far northwestern Oklahoma.
The lowest elevation in the state is in the southeast corner near Idabel, at 324 feet
Oklahoma has the distinction of having the highest hill in the world, Mount Cavanal, at 1,999 feet.
Oklahoma has more man-made lakes (200) than any other state, over one million surface-acres of water, and 2,000 more miles of shoreline than the Atlantic and Gulf coasts combined.
The largest lake in Oklahoma is Lake Eufaula, covering 102,000 surface acres of water.
Spiro Indians, linked to the Aztecs, thrived and left burial mounds filled with exquisite artwork and clues to their way of life. A museum displaying their artifacts is near Spiro.
Viking explorers visited eastern Oklahoma and left their mark near the town of Heavener.
Oklahoma's recorded history began when Spanish explorer Coronado carved his name and the date on a rock near the Cimarron River in western Oklahoma.
Oklahoma was part of the Louisiana Purchase.
Ft. Gibson was the first fort to be established in Oklahoma.
Land in Indian Territory was opened to white settlement by land runs, lotteries, and auctions. The territory was split in half, and the western half became Oklahoma Territory.
The first land run was held April 22nd. At exactly noon, a cannon boom signaled the start of the run which opened the Unassigned Lands for settlement.
The Sac and Fox, Pottawatomie-Shawnee Lands, located just east of the original run site, were opened on September 21.
The Cheyenne and Arapaho lands in western Oklahoma were opened for run on April 19.
The largest and most spectacular run in northern Oklahoma, the Cherokee Strip, was held on September 16.
On May 23rd, the Kickapoo Land Run was held in central Oklahoma.
November 16, Oklahoma became the 46th state to join the Union.
OKLAHOMA INDIAN FACTS
Oklahoma's name is derived from two Choctaw words, "okla" meaning people, and "humma" meaning red; literally meaning "red people."
The "Trail of Tears" began in the 1830s. It was the journey of the Five Civilized Tribes from the southeastern United States to Indian Territory. The relocation was forced.
The Five Civilized Tribes attempted statehood in 1905 under the name Sequoyah
There are 39 tribes and nations of American Indians with headquarters in Oklahoma. Descendants of the original 67 tribes inhabiting Indian Territory still live here.
State Colors... Green and White
State Grass... Indian Grass
State Insect... Honeybee
State Motto... "Labor Omnia Vincit" - Labor conquers all things
State Nickname... Sooner State
State Song... "OKLAHOMA!" from the Rodgers and Hammerstein's musical of the same name.
State Animal... American Buffalo or Bison
State Bird... Scissor-tailed Flycatcher
State Fish... White or Sand Bass
State Floral Emblem... Mistletoe
State Musical Instrument... Fiddle
State Reptile... Mountain Boomer or Collared Lizard
State Rock... Rose Rock
State Tree... Redbud
State Wildflower... Indian Blanket/Gallardia
The state flag is an Osage warrior shield on a field of blue with the shield crossed by a peace pipe and an olive branch.
The state seal shows a pioneer and an Indian shaking hands beneath the Scales of Justice, centered in the star. The star's five rays each contain symbols of the Five Civilized Tribes